top of page

Book Review: To All the Boys I've Loved Before ~ Jenny Han

Hi everyone! I failed the Feburary book challenge SO hard..*cries* but I'm back with another bookish review! Please remember to check the review guidelines tab before continuing.

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

My photo

Chapter length: ✭✭✭✭

Cover: ✭✭✭✭✭

Pacing: ✭✭✭

Cliche count:✭✭

 

“Love is scary: it changes; it can go away. That's the part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore.”

 

"LARA JEAN keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only...until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control."

 

Cover

The cover of this book is super cute! It caught my eye and definitely screams TEEN FICTION at anyone searching through the shelves. I love the included room decor and it inspires me to get crafty (even though I probably would ruin any DIY I attempt.)

Pacing

I really like the fact that Peter and Lara Jean's attraction was gradual and it wasn't just a "love at first sight" thing. I also love that Lara Jean keeps her eyes on school and her future instead of being completely engrossed in her relationship with Peter. She puts him aside a few times to stay faithful to her priorities, adding more fuel to the growing fire between them (ew, am I right?)

Chapter Length

The book's chapter length is generally short, which I always enjoy since I've said previously, it's hard for me to find time to read lately. There's occasionally chapters that I consider pretty lengthy, but I didn't mind them because the extra length was necessary to the situation. So don't be afraid to pick it up because it's a relatively thick spine, there's 71 short chapters!

Cliche Count

I gave the book a two star for cliches because let's face it, the whole setting of the book is a cliche. High school romance, leaked videos, Good girl with troubled best friend, etc.

Overall

It's a generally uplifting novel for teens or anyone in need of a silly dramatic. The lessons it teaches, in my opinion, are:

-Keep your head OUT of the clouds. Boys may seem heavely, but boys come and go. Relationships in general, come and go. It's a good thing to keep your attention on what's really important.

-Sisters should stick together. The sisterly love displayed in this book is so adorable and it makes me wish I had a sister about my age. It's like a love/hate relationship, but always ends in love.

-Change is good. When Margret leaves for college, it's up to Lara Jean to take up after her sister, look after Kitty, and try new things she hasn't before, like driving.

-Boys DO have feelings! Peter expresses his jealousy and concern A LOT in this book. It's so very endearing.

To All the Boys I've Loved Before's overall rating...

✭✭✭

Thanks for reading! :) *waves goodbye until next post*

Related Posts

See All

Keep Reading!

bottom of page