top of page

Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before #2) ~ Jenny Han


Hi everyone! I know, I'm horrible -- I've been absent from reviewing since January! Hard to believe that much time has passed, but it somehow has. In the last two months, Jenny Han has been my go-to author. I finished re-reading To All The Boys I've Loved Before on March 9th, and P.S. on the 11th. (That's how ridiculously engrossed I've been in these books!!) I was walking to school the other day, and it dawned on me that, "oh my gosh, I never reviewed the second book!" I honestly don't know how I did it. I guess there was a gap between reading the 1st and 2nd book that first time, and I just didn't get around to it. However, since I literally just finished re-reading it, allll of the feelings and opinions are back and vivid! So without further rambling, review time!

 

Characters:✭✭✭✭✭

Cover:✭✭✭✭✭

Chapter length: ✭✭✭✭✭

Pacing:✭✭✭✭✭

Cliche count:✭✭✭✭

Overall rating:✭✭✭✭✭

 

Synopsis: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

 

Favorite quotes: "I suppose you can't hold on to old things just for the sake of holding on." pg 29

 

Characters: I love every character that Jenny Han has written. Everyone's personality is so distinct, so it's kinda impossible to forget anyone and totally possible to relate to something about everyone. I love that she, like Marie Lu, writes un-hate-able antagonists. As much as I wanted to knock some sense into Gen, I wouldn't do it if I had the chance. It just sucks because Lara Jean is nice to her after everything and she still acts like a you-know-what! But we have to feel sympathy for her. Besides Jen, the characters are lovely. I think my favorite is still Kitty. I love the kid's personality, right next to Lara Jean's. I think they keep each other on their toes, and it illustrates a perfectly accurate sister relationship. I miss Josh in this book, but I have a feeling he'll come around in the finale. The only person I had a problem with in the beginning is Margot. She came back from college so snobby and judgemental (pet peeve! ugh!) and I took Lara Jean's side of their conflicts until we find out why she was acting that way. Then she became alright in my eyes again.

Cover: How could you not love a Han cover? I'll wait for an explanation.

Pacing/chapter length: I love the pacing of this series and I can't really say anything bad about it. If you've read my review guidelines, you'd know that I prefer a long book with a good amount of short chapters, and P.S. fits that preference like a glove. Everything progresses so smoothly and I didn't get to the end of the book and go, "wait, whut?" because I felt like I missed something.

Cliche count: *eye roll* you know what it isssss. High school. Love. Complications. Jealousy. Not a completely original concept. BUT, was it written in a way that deviated from most of the other YA books I've read that are set in high school? Heck yeah! Never have I ever read a high school themed book with a junior girl who bakes more than she should and volunteers at a retirement home. I love it.

More Discussion!

Overall, I think this book really captured how certain things don't always go to plan, and how that might not always be a bad thing. I loved Kitty and Lara Jean's quirkiness, and the sister relationships always make me swoon because it's just so nice to see how she balances taking care of kitty and her own #relationshipproblems. I definitely look forward to reading Always and Forever, which I got in the mail on Tuesday! I aspire to one day read the now complete series back-to-back-to-back.

How did you feel about the middle child of the To All the Boys series? Leave a comment!

Related Posts

See All

Keep Reading!

bottom of page