top of page

Farewell Autumn & Foresight for the Finale of 2017 ✨

Hi everyone! So normally I only do farewell & foresight for the end of the year, and although we're super close to that time, I figured I'd do one for the fall months of 2017, because they have been quite special to me.

This fall, I applied to college. That means this upcoming spring, I'll not only be graduating high school, but I'll be venturing into the next phase of my life. It's truly amazing how I've gotten to this point.

But I don't just mention college applications because they were daunting and caused a series of mini existential crises. No, I mention them because they gave me the opportunity to reflect on my life and the hurdles I've jumped through to make it here, a seventeen-year-old girl who is staring change dead in its face. I read over some of my posts from late 2016 / early 2017, and I could hear the fear in my words about the admissions process, even though I tried to cover it with humor. I'm telling you, this crap was S T R E S S F U L.

Nonetheless, I'm like 98% done with them (only 2 to go!) and I'm relieved to be nearing the end of the whole process. For the curious soles, the final list of colleges I applied/will apply to is:

  • Montana State University ✔️

  • Northern Arizona State University ✔️

  • Oregon State University ✔️

  • University of Oregon

  • Ohio State University

  • Ohio Wesleyan

  • George Mason University

  • Humboldt State University

  • University of California Davis

  • University of Georgia

  • University of Denver

  • American University

✔️ = Accepted

Early next spring, I will be putting up the final list of decisions, and I will not be embarrassed about it. Why? It's life! I don't expect to get into all of these, in fact I was excited to say I even had a choice so early on.

But something about that list humbled me. It reminded me to express that I am truly thankful for the assets I have in my life. From my HS counselor to my college counselor, and my Godmom and my parents, who have all worked with me to make that list even possible. Because of all of you, I am able to have this opportunity to even go somewhere fall of 2018. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you endlessly.

So as we say goodbye to the fall months and enter the last (but certainly not least) month of 2017, here are my hopes for finishing the year strong:

  • Get my driving permit! (I hear you Dinah, I swear I do.)

  • Finish my Goodreads challenge! I'm only 2 away and I have my reading schedule so I should be good to go!

  • Be proud of my S1 grades. I've worked so hard August to now, and I'm hoping that by December15th I'll be satisfied.

  • Give more this holiday

  • Spend more time with the ones I love

So that's about it for this post!! I've had these words circulating around in my head for a few days, and I'm glad I'm finally putting them out there. And for the sake of not having a pictureless post, here are my favorite photos that I took in the fall months! (See more on my nature photography Instagram here!)

Related Posts

See All

Keep Reading!

bottom of page