top of page

5 Star Book Predictions

Hey all! I recently watched @kaatreadsalot's booktube video giving 5 star rating predictions for books she hasn't read yet, and I thought it was a great idea! So credit for today's post inspo goes to her! Basically, I'm going to go through my Goodreads TBR shelf and pick out 5 books that I think I will rate a perfect 5 stars once I get around to buying and reading them. Let's do it!

 

#1: Just For Clicks - Kara McDowell

Date added to TBR: April 24th, 2019

Lightning synopsis: Twin girls are born into a social media presence thanks to their mom's successful mommy lifestyle blog. As they get older, they are expected to grow into and maintain their brand. One twin is all for it, the other? Not so much. One twin finds their mom's old handwritten journal that contains some secret...

Thoughts: I am still SO excited to read this book. It sounds super funny, lighthearted, but also a great reminder that social media is definitely less important than genuine family relationships. I'm still sure that once I get my hands on this book it'll be a 5 star read for me. Add it to your TBR here.

 

#2: Someday (Everyday #3) - David Levithan

Date added to TBR: April 3rd, 2019

Lightning synopsis: Have you ever asked yourself what is a soul? What does it mean to be human? If you spent your whole life thinking you're the only one that has this gift, how would you feel to learn there are others like you?

A wakes up in a different body every day. For as long as A has known, he is the only one able to do such a thing, until he finds out otherwise.

Thoughts: So you guys already KNOWWW that Every Day is one of my all-time favorite books ever. Someday is the third book in this series (although you could kinda call it the sequel, since Another Day is just Every Day from Rhiannon's POV, making it more of a companion novel than a sequel). I just NEED this book to be released in paperback for the sake of series format consistency and it HASN'T BEEN RELEASED YET. *Cries in bibliophile*

Add it to your TBR here.

 

#3: The Tiger and the Wolf - Adrian Tchaikovsky

Date added to TBR: July 26th, 2019

Lightning synopsis: Two clans: tigers and wolves. These two clans are at war, and all clan members are able to shape shift into their appropriate clan animal. Plot twist? A girl is born a hybrid of both clans--her father a wolf and her mother a tiger. She is able to shift into both animals. Not being able to stand the idea of disowning half of herself, she runs away--with a merciless assassin on her track.

Thoughts: Tigers and wolves?! My favorite wild animals combined in the same book?! SHAPE SHIFTING? SAY LESS. I AM SOLD! Guys I HAVE to read this book soon. I am so so so so excited to get my hands on it and dive into the series. AH!

Add it to your TBR here.

 

#4: Daughters of Nri - Reni K Amayo

Date added to TBR: June 19th, 2019

Lightning Synopsis: A war results in the departure of gods from Earth, and the only remnants of their existence remains in two twin girls who are separated at birth. They share a magic thought to be extinct from Earth when the gods left, though through tests of their strength, the magic is awakened. With it also is the path back to each other to fight the ruler who brought the gods to their knees.

Thoughts: I talked about this book in my Down the TBR Rabbit Hole booktube video, and I am still 10/10, 100% as excited as I was in that video to read this book. It comes out October 9th, so you already know one book on my October TBR!

(P.S.: BLACK GIRL MAGIC!)

Add it to your TBR here.

 

#5: Wilder Girls - Rory Power

Date added to TBR: July 25th, 2019

Lightning synopsis: A deadly plague breaks out at Raxter School for Girls. It kills the teachers first, then spreads to the students causing body malformities. The school is placed under quarantine, and no girl dares to go beyond its fence in fear of what they may find the Tox has infected on the outside. That is until one girl goes missing, and the other is willing to do anything, even journey beyond the fence, to find her.

Thoughts: Wowowowow this book has been all the hype in the bookish community for the last month or so! For some reason it gives me Never Let Me Go x Oryx and Crake vibes, since it takes place at a school and involves a plague that kills everyone. (Seriously, why did we read such gruesome books for 12th grade AP literature?) Regardless, I am excited to join the hype train for this book, and I definitely think it'll be a read that'll keep me on the edge of my seat!

Add it to your TBR here.

 

5 books I predict I will rate 5 stars when I f̶i̶n̶a̶l̶l̶y̶ get around to reading them. What books from your TBR do you predict you'll rate 5 stars? Let me know!

Keep Reading!

bottom of page