top of page

Five Books I'd Like to Read By the End of 2019

So if you're anything like me when it comes to reading, sometimes you see books that you REALLY want to read, but somehow never make time to read them. Although I didn't have a complete road map of the books I wanted to read when 2019 began, I did have a good idea of the first handful of titles I was going to conquer. Well, I'm 6 books into a 25 quota and I'm almost out of ideas. Cue the dramatic music.

What to read?

Well, the easiest thing to do if you have a Goodreads account is to revisit (and maybe while you're at it, clean up) that mile-long TBR shelf! Recently, I added a few books that have really piqued my interest, and here are the top 5 I'm dying to get my hands on. (BTW, we should be friends on GR!)

If you know anything about me, you know that I love David Levithan's books. Every single one of them (that I've read).

However, the Everyday trilogy holds a special place in my heart. I loved Everyday so much that I read it again in Another Day from Rhiannon's POV. And just last week, I learned that SOMEDAY is a thing?! HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS!

Someday was released last October, but unfortunately, it's only in hardcover form right now. Because I'm such a consistency geek when it comes to my books, I'm waiting for the paperback release in September. A painful decision indeed, but I want to complete the series in paperback. *Cries in bibliophile*

Okay, so I committed the bookish sin with this one: I watched the movie before I read the book. Granted, I thought the movie was excellent. Like, it-moved-me-to-tears excellent. And quite frankly, it's rare for that to happen.

Quite simply, I just want to read the book and revel in this story all over again.

So if you can't tell by the cover, this book is in no way contemporary. It was a happy accident that I even came across this book in the first place. One day, my friends and I were sitting in our dorm's lounge, and one of my friends had to read a couple of chapters from this book for her lit class. Deciding that it wasn't worth doing, she began to put the book away. But then, my other friend offered her a deal: friend with the reading assignment would do my other friend's math homework if my other friend would read the chapters for her and give her a summary at the end.

So they swapped, and my friend who took on the reading began to summarize the book periodically out loud. Let's just say, her summaries made me so interested in the book that I added it to my TBR. It sounds funny, existential, and worth a read.

Keeping the promise to myself to weave more nonfiction books into my 2019 reading list, I found interest in this tragic memoir. I know that not all nonfiction has to be heart wrenching, but I also want to expand my knowledge on things happening outside of the U.S. It's hard sometimes to care about things happening in distant places, and sometimes it's even easier to just accept those things as norms in that country. However, that is the farthest thing from the truth, and I want to make sure I don't fall into those mindsets. Part of that involves exposure and education of international issues, and I choose to do that via reading books.

I'm actually experiencing MAJOR regret with this book. I came across it (physically!) at an indie bookstore on the downtown strip of my town. It was only $5! I read the synopsis and thought to myself "this sounds really interesting!" but for some unjustifiable reason, I! didn't! buy! the! book! I'm literally planning on returning to that bookstore with my fingers crossed that it's still there. Hope for me. *Cries in bibliophile once more*

Anyway, the book's name kind of tells you what it's about: 100 species with less than 100 individuals left in the wild. As an environmental science major, this is highly important to me and I am kicking my three-day-ago self for not buying it!

Do you have any books you want to read before the end of the year? If so, why?

Until Friday!

Keep Reading!

bottom of page