top of page

Summer 2016 Bookish Goals ☀


Hi everyone, sorry for my slight absence here on the blog recently! Summer is RIGHT around the corner for me, and with that being said, as much as I want to resemble this cat:

I'd rather shape up and spend my time reading! (Although c'mon, won't we all be this cat at some point?)

Anyway with that also being said, my post today is laying out some of my bookish goals for the next 2 months!

Goal #1: Read at least 15 books.

For some that may sound like the lamest goal in the universe, but to me it's a big deal. I'm typically a slower reader & plus I have some things going on this summer that might decelerate my reading count.

Goal #2: Of those 15 books, read at least ONE nonfiction.

This fits perfectly with my summer reading assignment for incoming juniors of my high school. I'm going to be reading Freakonomics throughout summer, so win win!

Goal #3: Pick up my two most anticipated contemporaries!

You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan and How It Feels to Fly by Kathyrn Holmes both are released next month and I'm super excited. My goal is to get my hands on those ASAP!

Goal #4: Revisit my favorite childhood series.

Oh ya, I'm talking about the SeekersUniverse series by the group Erin Hunter. It's been literal years since I've picked up any of those books, and I want to re-experience the feelings I felt when I read them summer of 2010. Of the 15 books I plan to read, I want at least 6 of them to be these books (essentially the entire first series.) I'm just hoping it's as magical as it was when I was a kid. *crosses fingers*

Goal #5: Complete my Goodreads reading challenge

If all goes according to plan, the 15 books + my soon completion of Summer of Super Novas should = a completed goal of 25 books.Again it may seem wimpy but that's a big deal for me! I'm really hoping I can get there ^-^

 

And now for my summer goals for my blog/bookstagram!

Honestly this is simple: I just want to develop my style. Since I began my bookish hobby, the one thing I've struggled with is finding my style. It began as: what platform do I make my blog on? And now it's like: What time do I post? How often do I post? What will my theme be? What will be my style of book reviews? Etc etc etc.

Honestly, I want to break out of the box.

By box I mean this expectation as a book blogger that everything has to be perfect or consistent. While consistency is a good aspect of book blogging, so is diversity! I do most of my bookish pictures inside; so what happens if I want to take what I'm reading for a lovely day in the summer sun? And just so happen to take pictures I love? Most of the time, I wouldn't post them. Why? There's this little thought that screams: You're breaking your theme!! And I just don't want to deal with that.

If consistency is something that's not compromise-able for some, that is a okay! I'm just one of those people that wants to see something a little different every once and awhile, and this summer I'm determined to make that a reality for my blog/bookstagram.

 

So there you have it! My bookish goals for summer 2016. Wanna share some of your goals? Leave a comment! xx

Keep Reading!

bottom of page