top of page

Judging Books By Their Covers

Hi everyone! Today we're breaking a major bookish rule and even an aphorism of life: don't judge a book by its cover. Listen, I am all for giving every book an equal chance to be considered for my TBR pile, but sometimes a cover just too glitzy to not pursue. So today, I'm sharing 5 books I added to my TBR pile on Goodreads soley because of their cover or name. I'm going to share the synopses, and then ultimately determine if its a book I'd still be interested in reading on a scale of 5. Shall we?

 

"They say Delia burned herself to death in her stepfather’s shed.

They say it was suicide.

But June doesn’t believe it.

June and Delia used to be closer than anything. Best friends in that way that comes before everyone else—before guys, before family. It was like being in love, but more. They had a billion secrets, binding them together like thin silk cords.

But one night a year ago, everything changed. June, Delia, and June’s boyfriend Ryan were just having a little fun. Their good time got out of hand. And in the cold blue light of morning, June knew only this—things would never be the same again.

And now, a year later, Delia is dead. June is certain she was murdered. And she owes it to her to find out the truth…which is far more complicated than she ever could have imagined."

Thoughts: this book sounds genuinely interesting to me! From the cover and name, I thought it'd be a poetry book, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that it's a whole story! Although it sounds depressing, it also sounds mysterious and alluring. I rate this a 4/5 on the interest scale. Might have to pick it up!

 

"For years it has been said, “you can achieve anything you set your mind to.” But have you ever wondered why so many people struggle to achieve health, wealth, and happiness? Why do we bottle-up our emotions and feel like life is happening to us, rather than for us? Finally, Dear Universe reveals the real answers to create abundance, love, freedom, and joy in all areas of your life. From the moment you open it’s pages, you’ll begin to understand your hidden, untapped power to guide your emotions and create the life you want, no matter what you’re experiencing.

Feeling powerless, anxious, lonely or sad? Simply turn to one of the 100 mini-meditations to rise above fear so you can honor your feelings and move towards what you desire. Wanting to feel more abundant, lucky, confident, or inspired? Then turn to one of the 100 mini-meditations to embrace love so you can instantly transform your experience now. Filled with practical guidance, soulful exercises, and nuggets of wisdom, Dear Universe is your invitation to use the power of your emotions to achieve anything your heart desires."

Thoughts: This book also sounds super interesting! It's definitely more of a spiritual book and I did not recognize that on first glance, but I'm open to trying something new! I've never done meditations before and I think that word carries a connotation that people tend to be put off by because it feels outsider-ish. I know I'm kinda guilty of feeling weird about the idea of meditating, but that's just another reason to give it a shot and see what it's all about. Curiosity rating: 3.5/5.

 

"Since sixteen-year-old Riley Strout lost her mother two years ago, her saving grace has been her quirky little family in the grief support group she joined as a freshman. Jay, Kate, and Noah understand her pain; each lost a loved one, and they’ve stuck together in spite of their differences, united by tragedies only they understand.

When Riley thinks she spots her mother shopping in a grocery store, she fears she is suffering some sort of post-traumatic stress. Then Jay and Kate report similar experiences. Only Noah hasn’t had some kind of vision, which is perhaps why he’s become so skeptical and distant.

When Noah disappears, Riley fears she’s lost another loved one. As they frantically search for him, she, Kate, and Jay are drawn into the mystery surrounding a relic that belonged to Jay’s dead father and contains clues about the afterlife. Riley finds herself wrestling with her feelings for both Noah and Jay—which have become clear only in Noah’s absence. If Riley is to help those she loves, and herself, she must set things right with the one she’s lost."

Thoughts: I added this book to my TBR list a long time ago (November 7th, 2016 specifically) and I remember exactly what I said to myself when I stumbled across it: "I like the cover. I'll add it to my list and check the synopsis later." At that time I was still fairly new to Goodreads and getting used to its features, and I remember I was scrolling through the YA book tag and adding any and everything that looked interesting. This one is somewhat interesting, but for some reason, I feel like if I actually got it I'd be disappointed by the plot. It's one of those "this seems promising but I'm skeptical" feelings. So for that reason, I'll probably give it a 3/5 curiosity/interest rating.

 

"My name is Maxton and I’m a trader.

I live on a soulless planet where gravity, oxygen, and everything else are sold to the highest bidder on the black market. People are sold on the black market, too. You have to work really hard not to become one of those people. Pay your taxes, keep your friends and family close, and more than anything else—don’t get caught by the Militia. But all the rules changed for me the day I found her.

My name is Sophelia and I’m a stowaway.

I’ve been a slave for almost as long as I can remember. Waiting for the one day, one second, for my proprietor to turn his head so I could run and never look back. Now I'm on the run. And on a planet where no one is on your side and people would turn you in for a good meal or a piece of a silver, being on the run on Landu is the last place you want to be. Until he found me.

I won't survive without him. I can't breathe without her."

Thoughts: Yet another book I added a really long time ago, this time April 29th, 2016. I think this is a time where I was really getting into the dystopia genre of books and wanted nothing more to read something that gave me the same feels that The Young Elites did. Alas, upon reading the synopsis I am not interested in reading this book. To be honest it made me cringe. I removed this book from my TBR list, so I guess yay for making shelf space?

 

"Sadie hasn't had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she's been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie's entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister's killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie's story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie's journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it's too late."

Thoughts: I'm conflicted about this one. On one hand, this book looked like a casual YA read, probably set around graduating high school life stage, and maybe offering some version of a lesson about life similar to what The Memory Book offered. But after reading the synopsis, that is obviously not the story. Instead, it's a murder mystery, which I honestly don't know if I'd care to read. However, the radio personality reminds me of Radio Silence, and I loved that book. I think if I read Sadie, I'd go in expecting something similar to the friendship between Frances and Aled from RS and be disappointed if I didn't find it. Nevertheless, I am still a tiny bit curious, so I'll give it a 3.5/5 rating. If I get in the mood for a murder mystery, this will be my go-to.

 

So there are 5 books I've at one time or another added to my TBR list simply because they looked/sounded interesting. As you can see, covers can either represent and solidify your interest in a book, or be completely misleading as to what the book is about.

Do you have books that you've said you wanted to read just because the cover/name was interesting? Let me know below! Until Friday!

Keep Reading!

bottom of page